Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Full Frontal Nudity Coming to a Public Library Near You; Why I Oppose Tom Wheeler, President Obama's Nominee to Chair the Federal Communications Commission

Photo Credit Chris James / Flickr, h/t Associations Now
Full frontal nudity is coming to broadcast TV if Tom Wheeler, President Obama's nominee to chair the Federal Communications Commission [FCC], is confirmed by the US Senate.  A vote for Tom Wheeler is a vote for full frontal nudity on TV right during family hour.  Inevitably, that will make its way into public libraries despite libraries traditionally blocking out or not selecting such material.

Once it gets into libraries, the American Library Association [ALA] will do everything in its power to force local public libraries to ignore local law and policy to allow the full frontal nudity.  Indeed:

I oppose Tom Wheeler for the FCC chair to prevent full frontal nudity from breaking into broadcast TV so that I can attempt to keep the ALA from pushing it into libraries in the first place.  Nothing will be "fleeting."  It will be shown again and again and again—in public libraries—in full view of children.  Like in:

So now you know why I signed the letter to oppose the nomination of Tom Wheeler for FCC chair.

Here is news that does not name me but that covers the letter I signed:

Below is the text of the letter I signed (graphic and hyperlinks added by me) (click here for original):

July 9, 2013

Dear Senator,

Tom Wheeler
Photo Credit Getty Images, h/t Newsmax
We are writing to ask that you oppose Tom Wheeler, President Obama's nominee to chair the Federal Communications Commission, unless he agrees to lead a vigorous effort to enforce the federal decency law, 18 U. S. C. 1464, which prohibits indecency and profanity on broadcast TV and on radio.

Mr. Wheeler was given the opportunity to take a stand on decency enforcement during his nomination hearing but instead sidestepped the issue.  Senator Tim Scott (R-SC) asked Mr. Wheeler, "Where would you take the broadcast decency policy?"  In response, Mr. Wheeler's recognized that indecency is a problem, referencing concern for his grandchildren, but did not discuss enforcement. Mr. Wheeler can't just say there is a problem; he needs to say how he will use his enforcement authority as FCC chairman to fix it.

The American public has a right to decency at home. No network or shock jock has any right to invade that sacred space with indecent programming. Yet, the immediate past chairman of the FCC, Julius Genachowski, refused to bring even one enforcement action on indecency during his four years in office.

The FCC is the guardian of decency on broadcast TV and radio. The next FCC chair needs to show leadership on the issue and enforce the law, which he is free to do after the U. S. Supreme Court decision in FCC V. Fox of last June. It is time for the Commission to do its job and ensure the public airwaves are not filled with nudity and profanity.

There is no question that broadcast decency is a critical issue with the American public. More than 100,000 people submitted comments recently to the FCC in opposition to a proposed weakening of decency enforcement standards.  Only the networks and a handful of their supporters were for the proposal.

The American people have had enough.  We will be patient no longer.  We will not sit by while the public airwaves are filled with pornographic images and profane speech.

Senator, you have an opportunity to clarify Mr. Wheeler's views on the enforcement of the Federal decency law before the U. S. Senate votes on his confirmation and we ask you to do so now.


L. Brent Bozell III, President
Media Research Center

Patrick A. Trueman, President
Morality in Media

Tim Winter, President
Parents Television Council

Tim Wildmon, President
American Family Association

Mat Staver, Chairman
Liberty Counsel Action

Tom North
Decent TV

Frank Cannon, President
American Principles Project

Larry Jacobs, Managing Director
World Congress of Families

Don Feder
Don Feder Associates

David Barton

Penny Young Nance, President, CEO
Concerned Women for America

Jan Garbett, President
Women for Decency

Chuck Hurley, Vice-President & Chief Counsel
The Family Leader

Cathi Herrod, President
Center for Arizona Policy

Tom Shields, Chairman
Coalition for Marriage and Family

Mike McManus, President
Marriage Savers

Rick Schatz, CEO

Tony Perkins, President
Family Research Council

Phyllis Schlafly, President
Eagle Forum

Dr. Josh D. McDowell. Author, Speaker.
CEO Josh McDowell Ministries

Dawn Hawkins, Executive Director
Morality in Media

Dr. Ted Baehr, Chairman
Christian Film & Television Commission

Tom Minnery, Senior Vice President
Focus on the Family

Morton Blackwell, Chairman
The Weyrich Lunch

Michael P. Farris, Chancellor
Patrick Henry College

Phil Burress, President
Citizens for Community Values Action

John D. Foubert, Ph.D., National President
One in Four

Jim Backlin
Christian Coalition of America

David Caton, President
Florida Family Association, Inc

David E. Smith, Executive Director
Illinois Family Institute

Janice Shaw Crouse, Ph.D., Director and Senior Fellow
The Beverly LaHaye Institute
Concerned Women for America

Phillip Cosby, State Director
American Family Assoc. of KS & MO

Gene Mills, President
Louisiana Family Forum

Joe Ortwerth
Missouri Family Policy Council

Kris Mineau, President
Massachusetts Family Institute

Bill Johnson, President
American Decency Association

Dan Kleinman, Library Watchdog

Robert Kammer, President
Maryland Coalition Against Pornography

Judith Gelernter Reisman, Ph.D., Visiting Professor of Law
Liberty School of Law

John Helmberger, CEO
Minnesota Family Council

David Fowler, President,
Family Action of Tennessee, Inc

Rev. Jason J. McGuire, President
New Yorker's Family Research Foundation

C. Preston Noell III, President
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Tiffany Leeper, President, Girls Against Porn & Human Trafficking
Chief Liberation Officer
The Gentlemen's Posse

Diane Gramley, President

American Family Association of Pennsylvania

Kent Ostrander, Executive Director
The Family Foundation (KY)

Karen Testerman
First Principles New Hampshire

Patrick E. Mangan, Executive Director
Citizens for Community Values of Indiana

Micah Clark, Executive Director
American Family Association of Indiana

Pamela Atkinson, Chair
Utah Coalition Against Pornography

Tony Nassif, President & Founder

Preventing Abuse Foundation

Gary Glenn, President
American Family Association of Michigan

Monica Boyer
Kosciusko Silent NO More

John Stemberger, President
Florida Family Policy Council

Sharon Slater, President
Family Watch International

Rita G. Covelle, President
Morality in Media of Massachusetts

Jeffrey J. Ford MS, LMFT
UCAP Board Member

Jill Geigle, President
Arizona Family Council

Carol Soelberg, President
United Families International

Jill C. Manning, Ph.D., LMFT
Family Therapist & Researcher

Michael Geer, President
Pennsylvania Family Institute

Julaine K. Appling, President
Wisconsin Family Council

Janet M. LaRue, Esq.
Jan LaRue & Associates

Maurine Proctor, Editor-in-chief
Meridian Magazine

Daniel Weiss, President
The Brushfires Foundation

Elaine Silodor Berk, Co-director

Arthur Goldberg, Co-director

William J. Murray, Chairman
Religious Freedom Coalition

Ann Redding, President,
Christian Action League of Minnesota

Derek A. McCoy, President
Maryland Family Alliance


No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments of a personal nature, trolling, and linkspam may be removed.